The picturesque seaside town of Annalong is at the foot of the Mourne Mountains. A striking cornmill is to be found in this village, built in the 1800's and being one of Ulster's last working watermills.
The town of Bessbrook is a very early Quaker settlement and model village. It was built around the linen industry in 1845 by the Richardson family to house their workers. The layout remains as it was in that time with the local granite stone - of which it is made, and the original streets, terraces and the squares. Bessbrook can also boast the Craigmore Viaduct, an 18 arch viaduct, which carries the Belfast / Dublin Enterprise Train Service, sweeping across the valley of the Camlough River, as well as the National Trust's Derrymore House - an elegant 18th century thatched cottage built as a country retreat. It was here in Derrymore House that the Act of Union was drawn up.
Burren is a little village on the outskirts of the seaside resort of Warrenpoint. Within this quiet village lies the Burren Heritage Centre. It is the original national school, built in 1839, which has been re-opened as a centre to make the history of the area more the accessible to locals and tourists alike. Displays at this centre include Carlingford Lough and the Mourne Mountains as well as portal tomb, a crannog and the monastic settlement at Clonallen.
Camlough is situated near Bessbrook, and the slopes of the mythological Ring of Gullion. The beautiful Camlough Lake is reknowed for pike fishing, waterskiing and walks to the many viewpoints are at your disposal. Feile Camlocha is an action packed festival of music, dancing, story telling and events for all the family. For further details and dates contact Newry TIC.
Creggan is well known for one picturesque Church of Ireland graveyard. The famous O' Neill family vault and the burial place of three 18th century gaelic poets. Walks along Creggan Poets' Glen are available @ Newry TIC.
Crossmaglen is a small town in South Armagh and is the ideal place for anyone who wants to have a bit of craic. Crossmaglen is famous for its traditional music sessions in many of the local pubs. If you wish to flavour Old Ireland, come along to the town's fair day, or take part in a quiet spot of fishing. You can also enjoy watersports at Lough Ross.
Cullyhanna nestles among the hills in the southwest corner of South Armagh. Ashfield golf course, an 18- hole course, allows one to relax and unwind. Cullyhanna offers its visitors the chance to explore the religious, cultural, historical, social and archaeological interests of the area. It is home to the Cardinal O Fiaich Heritage Centre, which commemorates the life of Thomas O Fiaich.
Forkhill nestles among South Armagh hills. Come along and enjoy a regular traditional session with a guaranteed Cead mile Failte
Greencastle situated near Cranfield beach, is a quiet farming and fishing settlement. Greencastle is home to a dominating turreted castle, built by the Anglo - Norman's in 1261. It was built overlooking Carlingford Lough to provide protection from invaders.
Hilltown 'Gateway to the Mournes' was originally known as Eight Mile Bridge, is built on the River Bann. The town was named Hilltown by the Marquis of Downshire in 1765. In 1835 Hilltown had a total of 21 houses of which 12 were pubs. The smuggling of Brandy and spirits from the coast along 'The Brandy Pad' had become a local pastime and Hilltown was the favourite distribution point.
Jonesboro is the closest village to the north - south border and has one of Ulster's most lively open markets, attracting large crowds to their Sunday Fair. Not far from the village lies the ruins of Moyry Castle built in the 17th Century to guard the Gap of the North. The Kilsnasagart stone is close by, thought to be one of Ireland's oldest Christian monuments.
Kilkeel is situated in the heart of the Kingdom of Mourne and has a thriving fishing industry, fresh fish is available all year round from the Nautilus Centre. The town has a sports centre and swimming pool on the Esplande, Kilkeel 18 hole golf club, nearby the well known Silent Valley is just 3 miles from Kilkeel.
Killeavy is on the eastern slope of the Slieve Gullion mountain. It is an area steeped in culture, mythology and scenery and only 6 miles from Newry. Kileavy Castle and Kileavy Old Church are nearby. St. Moninna's well and shrine are situated high up on the hill and date back to 450 AD!
Killowen is a small sailing village near Rostrevor. It has a thriving sailing club and outdoor pursuits centre.
Mullaghbawn is surrounded by the Slieve Gullion Mountains. Visit the Ti Chulainn Heritage Centre and learn more about the local cultures and traditions. A trip to the Ballykeel Dolmen is a must or the home of Art McCooey, a Gaelic poet and scholar is close by.
Located North of Crossmaglen, and founded in 1770 it is associated with the legendary story of Lir. In fact, local people maintain that King Lir's palace was situated here. Newtownhamilton is one of the few places where the ancient game of road bowls (bullets) is played.
Lying at the Southern entrance to the Mournes is the picturesque village of Rostrevor. In 1612 Sir Edward Trevor married Rose Ussher, daughter of the Archbishop of Armagh and it is said that he named the village after his new young bride. The village has a number of beautiful walkways through Rostrevor Forest and Kilbroney Park. Rostrevor is an area of historical interest and folklore, features include, the 'Big Stone' (Cloc Mor), St Bronagh's 6th Century Church and Bell and Giant Murphy's Grave.
Warrenpoint was once a fashionable seaside resort of the Victorians. The town was centred around a harbour, which came to prominence in the early 19th as an out port for Newry. Here stands a plaque to commerate the thousands of emigrants who passed through this port in search of a new beginning. This is a busy resort town popular for entertainment, good food and festivals. The Municipal Park and promenade provide a relaxing ambience and the surrounding area has many places worth exploring.